News Flash

City of Greenville Official News Releases

Posted on: January 6, 2021

Greenlink Announces 2021 Citizens Transit Academy Class

Citizens Transit Academy virtual class photo

On Tuesday, January 5, Greenlink welcomed 20 participants to its third annual Citizens Transit Academy, a free, six-week program designed to offer Greenville County residents a unique opportunity to learn about public transportation and the opportunities and challenges facing Greenlink. Due to COVID-19, all classes will be held virtually this year.

According to James Keel, Greenlink’s director of public transportation, the program attracted a diverse pool of applicants, including Greenlink bus riders, government employees and health and human service providers. “We were concerned that our inability to host the Citizens Transit Academy in person would deter people from participating, so we’re excited that there is so much interest in learning about transportation,” said Keel. “Graduates from the 2019 and 2020 programs have been valuable partners in our efforts to engage the community in conversations about the role of public transit, so we’re very pleased to offer the Citizens Transit Academy again in 2021.”

The virtual classes will be held on Tuesdays from 6:30 to 8 p.m. 

2021 Class Schedule

January 5:        Introductions, CTA overview and Greenlink services

January 12:      Operations and safety, Transit Center tour and Greenlink’s new technology

January 19:      Finances, capital needs and maintenance facility tour

January 26:      Service change procedures, bus stops and route planning

February 2:      Transit Development Plan and other community efforts

February 9:      Group takeaways and graduation

Graduates of the Citizens Transit Academy will be recognized as knowledgeable representatives for public transit and encouraged to serve in leadership roles and seek opportunities to facilitate discussions about the importance of mobility.

2021 Class Participants

Caroline Aneskievich
Emily Armes
April Barksdale
Shawn Bell
Louise Colston
Amy Connor
Hillary Halpern
Alexina Hargrove
Alexandra Harris
Lisa Lark
Nancy Lester
Griffin Mills
Alan Mitchell
Rex O’Steen
Jamel Pinson
Eric Richey
Stephen Shelato
Andrew Shoun
Keyuna Smith
Brad Staub

Facebook Twitter Email